iPadmania

Tips, tricks, and apps for ALM iPad users

Welcome

leave a comment »

Welcome to the ALM iPad user blog.  A lot of people have fallen for the shiny tablets. And Aric asked if I’d be interesting in starting up an internal, for-our-eyes-only blog on what I find useful, interesting, amusing, or terrible, on the iPad. Here’s the result.

Some ground rules for app reviews: I won’t comment on the native apps, i.e., those that come with the device.  All apps found in Apple’s App Store are fair game, whether they’re free or not, media-centric or not. I’ll admit that I have a distinct preference for apps that take full advantage of the platform, using the technology to good advantage. So if it knows where I am, allows me to slide stuff around and pinch and expand, it’s likely I’ll fall for it. A simple port of a static PDF document, without added content, or some bells and whistles? Forget about it.

And, as you’ll see immediately below, I’ll violate that first rule to talk about book readers, because the main competition to Apple’s iBooks is a non-native app.

Written by almipad

February 9, 2011 at 4:48 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

